Skip to content

Vulval Intra-epithelial Neoplasia

March 13, 2011

If you have a persistent itch of the vulva, or any other persistent symptom of the vulva, then see your doctor. It may be a condition called vulval intra-epithelial neoplasia (VIN). This is a skin condition of the vulva. It is not cancer. However, it is classed as a precancerous condition, as in some women, VIN (after several years) may develop into vulval cancer. VIN can affect any woman, but is uncommon under the age of 40. Treatment to clear VIN is usually advised. The aims of treatment include to ease symptoms, and to prevent it developing into vulval cancer.

Neoplasm is an abnormal mass of tissue as a result of neoplasia. Neoplasia (“new growth” in Greek) is the abnormal proliferation of cells. The growth of neoplastic cells exceeds and is not coordinated with that of the normal tissues around it. The growth persists in the same excessive manner even after cessation of the stimuli. It usually causes a lump or tumor. Neoplasms may be benign, pre-malignant (carcinoma in situ) or malignant (cancer).

LEARN MORE Vulval Intra-epithelial Neoplasia
One Comment
  1. I don’t have VIN I don’t think, because I’ve had itching and pain for 20 years, which would put me well before 40. My vulva was severely injured as a child. I have tried twice to get a doctor to figure out what it was about ten years apart. One thought I must have recurrent yeast infections and tested me for aids and diabetes, both negative. She seemed to run out of things it could be. Are doctors not very well educated about the vulva? The second tested me for infections and then when the tests were negative concluded it must be psychosomatic. I can’t tell you how frustrating and saddening that is, and how much it impacts my life. I have to rinse my vulva after I pee in the morning or I’m in pain. The day after I have sex, I’m in pain. I’ve looked carefully at whether it’s psychosomatic, but I don’t think so, as the pain and itching seems to be independent of how I’m doing emotionally. How do you get a doctor to stick with it long enough to find a solution, rather than patting me on the head and sending me away? I could really use some tips on how to prompt my doctor to look beyond the solutions they are most familiar with.

Leave a Reply

